All Quiet on the Eastern Front

I realize this blog has been uncharacteristically quiet (even for me) since my last, rather depressing post. I’ve been suffering from a bit of writer’s block since Maria’s death, and though I’m trying to exercise the patience that’s gotten me through past cases, I admit I’ve experienced my share of frustration over it every time I come to this blog and see the impromptu eulogy I wrote for my friend over two months ago. So I’m not promising this is going to be a great post or anything, I just wanted to do something to get that last post moving on down the page.

Part of the reason I suspect I’ve been feeling unmotivated, creatively speaking, is that I’ve been too busy to take in the usual things that inspire me, like bad movies and television. My free time is so scarce these days that when I do sit down to watch or read something, I have to make sure it’s something I like. Yeah, believe it or not, I actually like things! I know that’s hard to believe given the stuff I usually post here, but I’ve spent my free moments lately watching old episodes of 30 Rock, Scrubs, Arrested Development, and Mystery Science Theater 3000. I’m also steadily working my way through the Southern Vampire Mysteries (also known as the Sookie Stackhouse books), as well as a slew of Terry Pratchett books (My library just got I Shall Wear Midnight when it came out in paperback!!!!125!) and my old friends, the Harry Potter books.

Otherwise I’m working, both for money and for fun, the former at my full-time job and the latter with a community theater, preparing for a couple of upcoming mini-vacations to Connecticut and the Outer Banks, and basking in the glow of having finished my last semester of school with a 4.0 GPA. (New semester starts on August 22nd, and I’m taking, among other things, Chemistry. MEEP.)

My birthday is in two days (June 21st), and that’s also pretty exciting. I’m not a superstitious person, but because my birthday falls almost exactly halfway through the year, I tend to think of it as a time to address what’s gone wrong since New Year’s (the only other day in the year I treat with a reverence that belies my non-superstitious nature) and try to start over again… again. Not that things have been terrible this year. Considering all the upheaval of past years, the first six months of 2011 have been a mixture of awful and wonderful that sort of even each other out. But I won’t elaborate, since I’m trying not to rehash the contents of the last post.

I hope this finds the few readers I have well. And at the very least, the first half of the last Twilight movie comes out this fall, so you can be pretty sure I’ll have something snarky to say about that.

Later, gators.

One response to “All Quiet on the Eastern Front

  1. You have no idea how excited I am for your next Twilight review :)